Library Research Guides: EALL 257: Gender and Consumption in East Asia: Home

Untitled by piggytea. Used under a Creative Commons license.

Related Guides

CINEMA & MEDIA STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 159 views this year
EAST ASIAN LANGUAGES & CULTURES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 28 views this year
EAST ASIAN STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Aug 7, 2023 14 views this year

Reference Collections

Search multiple reference sources at once

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously, including limiting to audio or visual materials.

Welcome

Doing EALL 257: Gender and Consumption in East Asia research? Please contact me for more help (see right sidebar).

SuperSearch

Find Books and Translations

To find books and films in Wellesley's collection:

BY an author/director - do an author search
ABOUT an author/film - do a subject search
Which may mention an author/director/film - do a keyword search
ABOUT a subject or topic - do a keyword OR subject search

Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley? Use WorldCat to search and request from libraries worldwide

Trying to find a translation of a book or short story? Use one of the following sites to identify a translation, then search for it by title in the library catalog.

Japanese Literature in Translation
Current source of translations, especially for modern materials. From the Japan Foundation.
Index Translationum
List of books translated in the world, i.e. an international bibliography of translations. From UNESCO.
WorldCat Discovery
Search for books on your topic and use the limiters on the left of the results page to further limit by language, format, date of publication, etc.

Find Criticism & Commentary

Use these databases to find film and literary criticism,
as well as scholarly articles related to your topic.

Asian Studies

Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text research reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes Asian studies in western languages, including journal articles, books, book chapters & conference proceedings, 1971-1991, and articles published in the 100+ most-used journals in this field, 1991 to present.

CiNii
Japanese-language index to articles, books & journals.

Literary & Film Criticism

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more, 1914 to present
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literary texts from 1600 to the present, with literary criticism full-text 1998 to present.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras, including the contents of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 4500 journals in the humanities & social sciences in 40 languages, 1665 to 1995
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Full text of journals published from 1665-1995. Note: includes British journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.

Your Librarian

Karen Storz

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish

Try these too!

Communication & Mass Media Complete -TRIAL
Provides journal articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory, and advertising, with full text for over 500 journals. Trial runs until December 15, 2012. Please send comments to Laura Reiner or Alana Kumbier.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology, 1952 to present.