Statistics: Topics A-C

United States

• Administration on Aging  - Stats for U.S., states and counties. Use the Multi-Database to create your own customized tables.
• Social Security Administration statistics   - reports on social security recipients and the elderly; links to state statistics.

United States

• Agricultural Statistics- Latest edition in Clapp Ref HD 1751 A43; earlier editions in Clapp HD 1751 A43 (1936+ ).
• National Agricultural Statistics Service - U.S., state, and county level agricultural statistics for many commodities and data series
• USDA Economic Research Service - farm and rural households, commodity markets, food marketing, agricultural trade, diet and health, food safety, food and nutrition assistance programs, natural resources and the environment, and the rural economy
• Census of Agriculture - "Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States."
• Foreign Agriculture Service - world agricultural production and trade, crop condition assessments.

International

• FAOSTAT - 3 million time-series and cross sectional  data relating to food and agriculture from 200 countries and more than 200 primary products and inputs

United States

• Current Industrial Reports   [U.S. Census Bureau] - monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity.
• U.S. Economic Census  - conducted every 5 years in the areas of mining, utilities, construction, manufacturing, wholesale and retail trade, transportation, agriculture, etc. Available online (1992, 1997, 2002, ), in paper in Clapp Docs HC (various years and call numbers) and on CD at Clapp Docs HA 37.U6 E38 1995 (1992+)*.
• See Nexis Uni or Mergent Online for financial statistics for individual companies.

United States

• Administration for Children and Families data and statistics 
• ChildStats   - Federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families. Includes the publication America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being (also in paper at Clapp SuDocs PR 42.8:C 43/C 43/)
• Children's Defense Fund has national data and state data   
• Kids Count  - Statistics on the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children. The Kids Count Data Book is also available in print, (1994+) at Clapp Docs HQ 792 U5 K53. View profiles in .html or download the raw data.
• Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children and Youth  [U.S. Department of Health and Human Services]. Also in paper at Clapp SuDocs HE 1.63: [yr] (1996+)
• U.S. Census Bureau: Children  

International

• Statistical data  [UNICEF] - Social indicators for women and children. Access by indicator or country.
• State of the World's Children  [UNICEF] - Also in paper (1985+) at Clapp Docs HQ 792.2 S73.

• Corruption Perception Index  [Transparency International]
• DataGov [InterAmerican Development Bank]  - governance indicators database
• Worldwide governance indicators [World Bank]  
• Country Indicators for Foreign Policy [Carleton College]  
• Environmental Performance Index and Environmental Sustainability Index   - An Initiative of the Yale Center for Environmental Law and Policy (YCELP) and the Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) of Columbia University, in collaboration with the World Economic Forum and the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission.

United States

• Capital Punishment Statistics  - U.S. statistics on executions and prisoners on death row. Divisions by state, age and sex, also references to federal laws on the death penalty. Paper (1982+) at Clapp SuDocs J 29.11/3:[yr].
• Crime and Justice Electronic Data Abstracts [U.S. Dept. of Justice]  - Statistics arranged by topic . Dates vary; some back to 1970.
• FBI's Uniform Crime Reports   1995+. (Crime in the United States) - Circumstances of crime, victims and offenders by age, sex, and race. Paper 1940+ at Clapp Docs HV 6787 A3. CD-ROM (1995+) at Clapp Docs HV 6787 A3*. Try their new table-building tool.
• Federal Sentencing Statistics and Sourcebook  - Statistics include length of sentence, average length of imprisonment, type of sentence, mode of conviction (plea or trial), type of crime by mode of conviction, and listed by state, district, and circuit; FY1995+. NO info by race.
• Financial Crimes (scroll down)  - includes bank crimes and mortgage fraud
• Hate Crimes   - From the Uniform Crime Reports.1995+.
• Juvenile Crime  - basic information on juvenile crime and victimization and on youth involved in the juvenile justice system from the National Center for Juvenile Justice.
• Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics   - latest compiled statistics and .wk1 format. Paper copies available
  (1989+) at Clapp SuDocs J 29.9/6:[yr], CD-ROM also available, Docs HV 7245 S6 (1994+)*.
• TRAC  [Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse, at Syracuse University] - comprehensive, independent, and non-partisan information about federal enforcement, staffing, and spending. Some data are free, the TRACFED database is only available by subscription.

International

For additional data (e.g. cybercrime) visit the National Criminal Justice Reference Service's (NJJRS), the Department of Justice's Bureau of Justice Statistics, or theFederal Justice Statistics Resource Center.

• Asian and Pacific Crime  [Asian and Pacific Conference of Correctional Adminiatrators] - Stats on prisoners in Asia, including prisoners by gender. Covers 1993+.
• Crime and Criminal Justice in Europe and North America, 1995-1997  and 1990-1994 [European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control]
• Global Report on Crime and Justice. Clapp Ref HV 7431 G445 1999. Excerpts are online.
• International Justice Statistics [ U.S. Dept. of Justice] - Links to U.N. and official country web sites.
• Illegal Crime [UN Office on Drugs and Crime]   - drug seizures by country and type of drug.