Library Research Guides: ART & ARCHITECTURE: Find Articles/News

Public Domain Journals online

USModernist® Library scans US architecture magazines and make them freely available to the public - in text- searchable, printable, and downloadable pdfs. Titles include: Progressive Architecture, Architectural Forum, Architectural Record, AIA Journal, Architect, Architecture, and more.

designinform Research Guides: Free-access, digitized art, architecture, design and craft pre-1923 journals.

SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

How to tell if a journal is peer-reviewed?

One of the best places to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed is to go to the journal web site. If you find the journal web site, look for the link that says information for authors, instructions for authors, submitting an article or something similar.

Another place to find out if the journal is peer-reviewed is to use one of the online databases such as Ulrichsweb. This directory gives you useful information about a specific journal including if it is peer-reviewed. You'll see the symbol next to the journal title if it's peer-reviewed (Refereed).

Key Databases in Art

For searching with precision, try one of these databases.

These databases contain a combination of full text articles and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books that link to the full-text.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
1984+; full-text of selected articles: 1997+
Indexes and abstracts major art periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Continued database from Art Index Retrospective, below.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications. Database continues as Art Full Text, above.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
1960+
The premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention.

Key Databases in Architecture

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934 - current, with selective coverage back to 1741.
This database surveys 2,500+ U.S. and foreign journals. The index covers scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and major serial publications on the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. Also provides nearly 20,000 citation records for architects' obituaries.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) in Architecture
Links to over 40 open access, peer-reviewed journals in the field of Architecture.

Other Databases

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Iter Bibliography: A massive bibliography of more than 1.1 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles from scholarly & popular publications in all disciplines. Articles are in English, French, and other languages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database that contains full-text access to scholarly collection of journals that cover the major disciplines, including (French) language and literature. JSTOR does not contain the most recent issues (previous 3-5 years) of some journals, many of which you can find in Project Muse.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Use this to find articles in selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the last five years. Some journals are covered back to the mid-1990s.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books and index of journal articles on Islam and the Muslim world, 1906 to present.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.

Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals by Mary M. Schmidt
Call Number: Art Ref Z5937 .S35 1999
ISBN: 0932087566
The Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. The Index describes the entire journal contents — articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements — and offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions

Subject Librarian

Brooke Henderson

Email Me

Contact:

Art Library, Jewett Art Center
Phone: 781-283-3258

Subjects: Art & Architecture, Media Arts & Sciences

Major U.S. Papers

New York Times Group Pass
Wellesley now offers free access to the current web version of the New York Times for currently-enrolled students, faculty, and staff, but registration is required. You must be on campus to register; after registering you can access your NYT account from anywhere.
New York Times Historical
1851-2012; more recent coverage in Nexis Uni news sources
Boston Globe 1872-present
Los Angeles Times 1881-present

Wall Street Journal 1984-present This link opens in a new window
Financial and economic news in text-only articles (no images), 1986 to present. For earlier issues or for images, see the microfilm (Microfilm Room, Level 1, Clapp Library).

Other News Sources

Visit the News Research Guide for information about and access to all of our current and historical newspaper collections.