Wellesley College Notable Alumnae
Wellesley College is home to many notable alumnae, including two from the class of 1959:

Madeline Korbel Albright
article from Biography in Context

Amalya Lyles Kearse
article from West's Encyclopedia of American Law
More information about Wellesley College alumnae can be found in the Archives or by contacting the Alumnae Association.
Full Text Biographies
- American National BiographyDeceased Americans, primarily covers pre-2000
- Biography in ContextFormerly called Biography Resource Center
- Credo ReferenceSelect "biographies" to search in or browse all biographical sources.
- Current BiographyCovers popular figures, 1940-present
- LexisNexis AcademicUse the "Research People" option.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyDeceased people associated with Britain and the British Empire
- Who's WhoClapp Ref DA28 .W6
Citations to Biographies
- Biography IndexClapp Ref Z5301 .B5
- National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections(NUCMC) - database describing archival collections, personal papers, etc.
Specialized Sources of Biographies
- Access Science Biography
- Dictionary of the Social Sciences
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
- International Dictionary of Film and Filmmakers
- Literature Online (LION)Select "biographies"
- Literature Resource CenterSelect "person search".
- Notable American Women, 1607-1950: A Biographical Dictionary
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Books about People
Find books by and about people in the library catalog.
Use the subject search to find books about someone.
Use the author search to find books by someone.
Examples:
- Clinton, Hillary Rodham:
as a subject - as an author - hooks, bell:
as a subject - as an author - Kahlo, Frida:
as a subject - as an author
Biographies on the Web
What about Wikipedia?
Before you use Wikipedia as a source of biographical information about people living or dead, learn how the community is expected to create and edit biographies of living people.
In a nutshell: Material about living persons added to any Wikipedia page must be written with the greatest care and attention to verifiability, neutrailty, and avoiding original research.
Always verify any claims you find about people in Wikipedia with other sources, such as the ones listed on this guide.

Loading...
