Library Research Guides: ECONOMICS: Find Context & Overviews

Why Use Reference Materials?

for a quick overview of a topic

to develop vocabulary or keywords for searching

for suggestions for further sources

Overviews

Economics: A Very Short Introduction by Partha Dasgupta
Publication Date: 2007
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by Joel Mokyr, editor in chief
Call Number: Clapp Ref HC15 .O94 2003
Covers economic history in all areas of the world and segments of economies from prehistoric times to the present.

OECD Economic Surveys
OECD’s periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Each issue provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the country and chapters covering key economic challenges being faced and recommendations for dealing with them.

An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics by T. Cate (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013

Sage Knowledge Online This link opens in a new window
Search across more than 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously, including limiting to audio or visual materials.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 100 reference books in all disciplines published by Oxford University Press

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

Search one of the most extensive and authoritative economics reference resources. It contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 of the world's leading economists.