Library Research Guides: WGST 307: Geisha Robots, Cyberpunk Warriors, and Asian Futures: Find Articles

Image courtesy of looking4poetry on Flickr.com. Used under Creative Commons License.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.

Scholarly Databases

These databases contain citations and full text from scholarly journals in disciplines that support Women's and Gender Studies.

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and books on women's studies, feminism, and gender studies, 1972 to present
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology, 1952 to present.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture articles, prehistory to present, written from 1955 to present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
With a focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, this collection gathers historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and changes in gender roles, including articles dating back as far as the 1970s.
Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text research reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Indexes Asian studies in western languages, including journal articles, books, book chapters & conference proceedings, 1971-1991, and articles published in the 100+ most-used journals in this field, 1991 to present.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more, 1914 to present

How to read article citations

Eichhorn, Kate. "D.I.Y. Collectors, Archiving Scholars, and Activist Librarians: Legitimizing Feminist Knowledge and Cultural Production Since 1990." Women's Studies 39.6 (2010): 622-646.

Eichhorn, Kate. - Author
"D.I.Y. Collectors, Archiving Scholars..." - Article title
Women's Studies - Journal title
39 - Volume number
6 - Issue number
2010 - Year
622-646 - Pages