Library Research Guides: WRIT 127: American Protest Literature: Find Books & Articles

Internet Archive Books

If you're looking for a book that isn't available in our library, don't despair! Check to see if it's available in the Internet Archive. You can borrow digitized copies of books from the Internet Archive for up to 14 days with a free account. Access is limited to one user at a time per book.

Flanagan, Therese. MLK - Peace Rally - Gainesville, Florida - Corner of University and 13th. 2005. Web. 29 Oct. 2015. Used under Creative Commons BY-NC-ND 2.0 license.

SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface. Limit your search to academic & peer-reviewed journal articles, books, or other types of sources using the filtering options on your search results screen.

For searching with more precision inside a subject area, go to the key databases on the Find Articles page.

Key Databases

Databases can contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and/or citation information about articles, book chapters, or books. You can browse all of our databases by subject or choose one below.

Women's & Gender Studies

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
With a focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, this collection gathers historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and changes in gender roles, including articles dating back as far as the 1970s.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and books on women's studies, feminism, and gender studies, 1972 to present
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Index to literature on topics pertaining to sexuality and gender identity, including full text for over 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines, and regional newspapers.

Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Literary texts from 1600 to the present, with literary criticism full-text 1998 to present.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras, including the contents of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.

History

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture articles, prehistory to present, written from 1955 to present.

Art

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of art. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Modern & contemporary artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, new media and crafts, 1974 to present

Multidisciplinary

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, 1970 to present.

Catalog Search Tips

Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that is relevant to your topic, use the subject headings of that book to help you find "more like this".

Keyword search: