Library Research Guides: AMST 315: Beats, Rhymes, and Life: Websites and News

Key Websites

Music:

Center for Black Music Research - Columbia College Chicago

History of Rock and R&B course - Wesleyan University

Hip Hop Archive - Harvard University

Massachusetts Hip-Hop Archive - UMass Boston

Adler Hip-Hop Archive - Cornell University

Houston Hip-Hop Research Collection - University of Houston

NOLA Hip-Hop and Bounce Archive - Tulane University

Remix Theory, Hip Hop Archive

All Hip Hop.com

Background in Culture:

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture [New York Public Library] - national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the history and experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world

Cultural Politics - a site designed to offer resources for the analysis of the role of culture in shaping our political, economic, and social lives.

News Sources

News Research Guide -

Alternative Press Sources

Chicago Defender
Searchable full-text replica of one of America's leading African-American newspapers, from 1910-1975.
New York Times
Search for full-text articles on music, and for concert reviews.
New York Amsterdam News
Full-text replica of this major African-American newspaper, from 1922 to 1993.

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press, 1995 to present
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles on women's social, religious & political issues, 1974 to present
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present

Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
More than 130 searchable newspapers from the Balch Collection, published by members of many of the most influential American ethnic groups in 25 U.S. states.