Skip to main content
Research Guides

EDUC: 117: FYS: Diversity in Education: Media Sources

Professor Hong: Fall 2016

EUROPEANA

Europeana offers over 20 million digital images from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections -- all of which are in the public domain. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Image: Astronomy: a chart of the constellations Great Bear and Little Bear. Engraving. From the Wellcome Library.

COPYRIGHT & FAIR USE

Learn more about copyright, intellectual property, and fair use with this resource guide from Yale University.

Want to know more about Creative Commons? You can watch some short videos here!

OTHER RESOURCES

Search for works licensed under Creative Commons, across media. Make sure that you follow links within results to verify works are licensed under CC. When in doubt, contact the creator directly.

Directory of additional Creative Commons content sources.

Resources for remixing, adapting, and sharing creative work - from the Boston Radical Reference Collective

IMAGES

This overview explains why and how you can find images to use in course & personal projects. 

Digital Images Collections Wiki (Wellesley College) - a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes

Finding Images (Wellesley College Art Library research guide) - consult sources in the "public collections" section for images you can use

Wikipedia - List of web sites with images in the public domain

Wikimedia Commons - All of the images you'll find here have clear information about permission for use. Many are in the public domain.

Flickr - Browse Creative Commons images / Search for Creative Commons images

Compfight - Search Flickr and other photo sites for freely-available images. Narrow your search by Creative Commons license to find images for public use.

Want to use these images in a presentation, on a blog, or sharing on Tubmlr, Twitter or other social media?

Citing & crediting image creators - A step-by-step guide to help you do this 

AUDIO

Here are some sites where you can download sound & music files.

Sounds

Phonography - A directory of resources for soundscape recordings and for public domain sound files ( look under "sounds")

The Freesound Project - A site of ambient and sound effects files that are available to the public (note you must register to use but it is free and open to all)

Soundtransit - On this site, you can plan a sonic journey through various locations recorded around the world, or you can search the database for specific sounds by different artists from certain places. If you are a phonographer, you can also contribute your recordings for others to enjoy. The Creative Commons Attribution license encourages the sharing and reuse of all sounds on this website.

Music

Free Music Archive - an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads. Conditions of use vary and are determined by the rightsholders themselves (see their FAQ for details).

Legal Music for Videos - The Creative Commons site maintains a list of links to sites offering music licensed under CC.


ccMixter - ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.


Jamendo -All the music on jamendo is available under one of the six Creative Commons licenses. They authorize free download and enable the artists to promote their music while protecting their rights.


VIDEO

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive - This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Sandbox at WGBH Lab - WGBH shares high-quality video clips with users. Use Sandbox clips to "make a mash-up, documentary, music video, or whatever!"

Blip.tv - check CC-license for use under Metadata section

YouTube - after your initial search, click on the link for Advanced Options on the right-hand side of the page, and add "creative commons" as a term in your search