Library Research Guides: ANTH 101: Introduction to Cultural and Social Anthropology: Find Articles

Subject Specific Databases

For searching with precision, try one of these databases. They contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. from the late 19th century-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology, 1952 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles in the social sciences, 1900 to present. Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
With a focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, this collection gathers historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and changes in gender roles, including articles dating back as far as the 1970s.

Search SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.