Library Research Guides: WRIT 137: The Novels of Jane Austen: 2ndary Sources: Books & Articles

SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

Search the Library Catalog

Selected Books on Jane Austen & Her Time

England in the Age of Austen by Jeremy Black
Publication Date: 2021
Matters of Fact in Jane Austen: History, Location, and Celebrity (e-book) by Janine Barchas
Publication Date: 2012
Jane Austen (e-book) by Marilyn Butler
Publication Date: 2007
Jane Austen and Representations of Regency England by Roger Sales
Publication Date: 2002

Find Scholarly Articles

Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find books, book chapters, and articles on topics in languages, literature (including film), folklore, and linguistics, in many languages.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
This is another good database for literary criticism, focused on literature in English. It also includes key reference works and literary texts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals that cover the major disciplines, including language and literature. JSTOR does not contain the most recent issues (previous 5 years), many of which you can find in Project Muse.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on all periods of world history
- cool feature: limit by time period
- use the “find it @ Wellesley” button to get the full text of the article

Search Tips

use synonyms and truncation to find all the ways your topic is expressed--computers are very literal
combine multiple concepts using AND / OR for best results

sample topic: women and property rights in Regency England

(woman OR women OR female) - synonyms

AND (property OR own* OR possess*) - truncation

AND (regency OR 19th century england)