Library Research Guides: AFRICANA STUDIES: Find Articles & Reports

Databases with Scholarly Articles

For searching with precision inside a particular subject area, try one of our databases.

These databases contain a combination of full text articles and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books that link to the full-text.

The Americas

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
More than 170 academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres, by and about African Americans.

JSTOR African American Studies Journals

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
best source for articles on American & Canadian history, searchable by time period
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
world history including Africa and the Caribbean, searchable by time period

Africa

African Studies Centre
Database of abstracts of books and articles on all aspects of Africa in the social sciences, from the Netherlands-based research center.
African Journals Online (AJOL)
The world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
world history including Africa and the Caribbean, searchable by time period

JSTOR African Studies Journals
AfricaBib.org
Contains the Africana Periodical Literature Database, African Women Bibliographic Database, and links to several other very useful indexes. Good bibliography of articles on Africa, use with SuperSearch to get the full text of articles listed here.

Broader Databases with Some Africana Content

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and books on women's studies, feminism, and gender studies, 1972 to present
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books and index of journal articles on Islam and the Muslim world, 1906 to present.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, think-tank reports, working papers. Comprised of four political science databases, which can also be searched individually: PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service), Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Political Science Database, and Policy File Index
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present.

Go to the Library's Databases A-Z list and use the Subjects menu to find other databases relevant to your topic.

Reports & Working Papers

World Bank FOCUS: Sub-Saharan Africa
Research from the World Bank dealing with key aspects of development in Sub-Saharan Africa.

SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.