Library Research Guides: WRIT 177: Understanding Mind-Body Connections: Home

Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Clapp Library, 227A

781-283-3021

Subjects: Astronomy & Astrophysics, Biological Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Geosciences, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physical Education & Athletics, Physics, Psychology, Quantitative Reasoning

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Articles in all fields of medicine and biomedicine, with abstracts and links to additional resources from the National Library of Medicine, 1950 to present.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles covering health and society, allied health, medical ethics, and other health issues, 1997 to present.

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
One of the largest collections of US newspapers, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title). Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, 1995 to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present.

US CDC
The Centers for Disease Control is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The organization is responsible for implementing public health initiatives in the U.S., and also leverages its resources to advance global health initiatives.
WHO: World Health Statistics
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States.
WHO: World Health Organization Health Topics
The WHO's mission is to provide global leadership in public health. Here's a list of topics they have resources and information on!
National Institutes of Health
NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability. They fund an incredible amount of research on health topics, and you can learn about these health topics from their website.
US Health & Human Services
It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.
MA Department of Public Health
DPH promotes the health and well-being of all residents by ensuring access to high-quality public health and healthcare services, and by focusing on prevention, wellness and health equity in all people.